Tatcha vs Shiseido: the short answer
Pick Tatcha if you want a cream or serum with no denatured alcohol on the label, or the lower price per ounce on moisturizer. Pick Shiseido if you want a brand founded in Japan, or the lower price per ounce on serum.
Tatcha and Shiseido both sell luxury creams and serums built around Japanese ingredient stories. Tatcha puts fermented rice, green tea, and algae at the center of its formulas. Shiseido leans on camellia, safflower, and algae.
We compared two creams and a serum from each brand. All six list fragrance, so the useful differences come down to alcohol, skin type, price, and the kind of evidence each brand publishes.
Choose this if
- Choose Tatcha if denatured alcohol bothers your skin. None of the three Tatcha products lists it, while Shiseido's Benefiance lists it second and Ultimune lists it fourth.
- Choose Shiseido if you want a serum for less per ounce. Ultimune costs $125 for 50 ml, or $73.93 per ounce, against $97.59 per ounce for Tatcha's The Silk Serum.
- Choose Shiseido if Japanese origin matters to you. Shiseido was founded in Ginza, Tokyo, in 1872. Tatcha was founded in San Francisco in 2009 and belongs to Unilever.
Is Tatcha a Japanese brand?
Not by origin. Tatcha was founded in the US and draws on Japanese beauty rituals, while Shiseido is a Japanese company. Victoria (Vicky) Tsai founded Tatcha in San Francisco in 2009 after time in Kyoto, and the brand develops its formulas with the Tatcha Institute, founded in Tokyo in 2010.
Tatcha says most of its formulas use Hadasei-3, its complex of double-fermented Akita rice, Uji green tea, and Okinawa algae. All three Tatcha products here list a rice ferment filtrate second, right after water.
Shiseido began in 1872 in Tokyo's Ginza district, when Arinobu Fukuhara, who had been a chief pharmacist in a navy hospital, opened Japan's first private Western-style pharmacy. The company moved into cosmetics in 1897 with Eudermine, which it still sells as Eudermine Activating Essence. Its head office is in Ginza today.
Are Tatcha and Shiseido owned by the same company?
No. Tatcha belongs to Unilever, and Shiseido is an independent company, listed on the Tokyo Stock Exchange since 1949 with no parent company.
Unilever agreed to buy Tatcha in June 2019. The terms were not disclosed, and the deal was reported at close to $500 million. Shiseido reported consolidated net sales of 990 billion yen for fiscal 2024.
Full histories are on our Tatcha brand page and Shiseido brand page.
Tatcha vs Shiseido moisturizer: which cream should you choose?
Tatcha's The Water Cream is labeled for combination to oily skin and The Dewy Skin Cream for dry skin, while Shiseido labels Benefiance for normal to combination skin and Vital Perfection for all skin types.
| The Dewy Skin Cream | The Water Cream | Benefiance Wrinkle Smoothing Cream | Vital Perfection Advanced Cream | |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Price and size (US) | $74 for 50 ml | $74 for 50 ml | $79 for 50 ml | $146 for 50 ml |
| Price per ounce | $43.77 | $43.77 | $46.73 | $86.35 |
| Skin type (brand) | Dry, combination to dry | Combination to oily | Normal to combination (tag says normal to oily) | All skin types |
| Texture (brand wording) | Rich cream | Lightweight, oil-free cream | Silky, smooth cream | Silky cream |
| Second ingredient | Rice ferment filtrate | Rice ferment filtrate | Denatured alcohol | Butylene glycol |
| Named actives | Hyaluronic acid, red algae, Japanese purple rice, squalane | Glycerin, wild rose, heartleaf | Niacinamide, turmeric extract, KOMBU-Bounce Complex | SafflowerRED, ginseng root extract, jujuba fruit extract, caffeine |
| Fragrance | Listed | Listed | Listed | Listed |
| Denatured alcohol | Not listed | Not listed | 2nd ingredient | Not listed |
What the brands' test numbers mean
Every product result here comes from the brands' own pages, in two kinds. Clinical and instrumental results mean an expert grader or a device assessed the skin. Consumer self-assessments mean people rated their own skin, which shows how a product seemed to them, not how much the skin changed. Neither is independent testing. Where a page attaches one figure to two different studies, we say so and leave out the sample size.
Tatcha's creams: The Dewy Skin Cream and The Water Cream
Both Tatcha creams contain green tea leaf extract, sodium hyaluronate, and gold, and they split on texture and skin type.
The Dewy Skin Cream is the richer of the two, with glycerin third, dimethicone fifth, and squalane sixth. Tatcha reports a 225% boost in skin moisturization after one use, from a clinical study of 36 panelists. Fragrance is listed 38th and alcohol 39th (the label says alcohol, not alcohol denat.), along with citral, limonene, and linalool.
The Water Cream is the lighter option, and Tatcha calls it oil-free. Dimethicone is third, and its named botanicals include wild rose and heartleaf. Tatcha reports that 97% of panelists showed improvement in clogged and enlarged pores after 1 week, from an expert-graded study of 36 panelists, and a 27% improvement in skin barrier function after 2 weeks, measured with instruments on 27 panelists. The page ties its hydration and oil-reduction figures to conflicting footnotes, so we leave those out. The page also features Japanese coix seed, but its ingredient list does not name coix. Fragrance is listed 29th and alcohol 30th, with limonene, linalool, and citral.
Shiseido's creams: Benefiance and Vital Perfection
Benefiance Wrinkle Smoothing Cream lists SD alcohol 40-B, a denatured alcohol, second and niacinamide fifth. It also contains caffeine, turmeric extract, and the KOMBU-Bounce Complex, which Shiseido describes as green, brown, and red algae plus chlorella extract. In consumer testing, 95% of 111 women felt their skin's dryness improved right after application. Fragrance is listed 28th, with linalool, limonene, citronellol, and geraniol.
Vital Perfection Uplifting and Firming Advanced Cream is the most expensive product in this comparison. It lists butylene glycol second, alcohol fifth (not denatured), caffeine 21st, and lavender oil 22nd. Shiseido's headline ingredient is SafflowerRED, which it says is grown only in Japan, and the label lists safflower flower extract. Fragrance comes 55th, with limonene, hexyl cinnamal, linalool, and citronellol.
The Silk Serum vs Ultimune: which serum is better?
Tatcha's The Silk Serum publishes more detailed wrinkle and firmness figures, while Shiseido's Ultimune Power Infusing Serum costs less per ounce and is labeled for all skin types, including sensitive.
| The Silk Serum | Ultimune Power Infusing Serum | |
|---|---|---|
| Price and size (US) | $99 for 30 ml | $125 for 50 ml |
| Price per ounce | $97.59 | $73.93 |
| Skin type (brand) | Not stated | All skin types, including sensitive |
| Texture (brand wording) | Not described | Fresh, fast-absorbing, lightweight |
| Named actives | Cranberry extract, sea fennel, tetrapeptide-4, silk protein, diglucosyl gallic acid | Fermented camellia, camellia seed oil, heartleaf, fermented roselle, reishi mushroom, iris root |
| Fragrance | 8th ingredient, plus citral, limonene, linalool | Last ingredient, plus linalool, citronellol |
| Denatured alcohol | Not listed | 4th ingredient |
The Silk Serum carries the subtitle "Wrinkle-Smoothing Retinol Alternative." Its tetrapeptide-4 is a peptide, and no alcohol or alcohol denat. is listed. Per the page's footnote, Tatcha's claim that the serum smooths deep wrinkles better than retinol comes from an image analysis test of a cranberry-derived biopeptide. That test covered one ingredient, not the finished serum, and the page lists no sample size.
Tatcha makes a similar retinol comparison for Hadasei-3, but that claim's footnote is missing from the page, so we do not count it. Our guide to peptides vs retinol for firming covers the tradeoffs.
Ultimune Power Infusing Serum is built on what Shiseido calls Power Fermented Camellia+, which it ties to camellia flowers that grow in the Goto Islands of Nagasaki and a fermentation process using Ki-koji. The label also lists ectoin 17th. Denatured alcohol is fourth, and fragrance is the last of 48 ingredients. In Shiseido's consumer testing on 107 women, 99% said their skin looked more radiant with smoother texture after 3 days.
Which is better for wrinkles and firmness, Tatcha or Shiseido?
For a serum, Tatcha's The Silk Serum has the more detailed clinical wrinkle and firmness data. For a cream, Shiseido's Vital Perfection is the only one of the four with a clinical result for a lifted look.
| Product | Brand-reported result | Test type | Tested on | Timing |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| The Silk Serum | 73% showed improved firmness | Expert-graded clinical | 41 panelists | 2 weeks |
| The Silk Serum | 78% showed improvement in the look of deep wrinkles | Expert-graded clinical | 41 panelists | 4 weeks |
| The Silk Serum | 38% reduction in under-eye and forehead lines | Expert-graded clinical | 41 panelists | 4 weeks |
| Vital Perfection | 100% showed a firmer, brighter, more lifted look | Clinical | 33 women | 1 week |
| Vital Perfection | 91% saw tightened facial contours | Consumer self-assessment | 110 people | 2 weeks |
| Ultimune | 98% said skin looks firmer | Consumer self-assessment | 107 women | 1 week |
| Benefiance | Visibly improves the appearance of wrinkles (no percentage given) | Not stated | 33 women | 2 weeks |
Two more figures come with conflicting study details. The Dewy Skin Cream page reports 88% showed an improvement in the look of dry fine lines after 2 weeks, and the Vital Perfection page reports 84% saw less visible deep wrinkles in 2 weeks. Each page ties its figure to two different studies, so the sample size and test type are unclear. Ultimune's broader clinical claim on fine lines, wrinkles, and firmness carries two different sample sizes on the same page.
Benefiance is the only product here with niacinamide on the label, listed fifth. A 2004 study in the International Journal of Cosmetic Science reported that topical niacinamide reduced wrinkling and other signs of aging facial skin. That research looked at the ingredient, not at Benefiance, and Shiseido does not disclose how much niacinamide the cream contains.
A cream or serum can improve how firm skin looks over weeks of use. It does not lift skin the way a procedure does, as our lifting vs firming cream explainer covers.
Which is cheaper, Tatcha or Shiseido?
Tatcha is cheaper per ounce for moisturizer, and Shiseido is cheaper per ounce for serum. The gap on creams is small: $43.77 per ounce for either Tatcha cream against $46.73 for Benefiance.
| Product | Price | Size | Per ounce |
|---|---|---|---|
| The Dewy Skin Cream | $74 | 50 ml | $43.77 |
| The Water Cream | $74 | 50 ml | $43.77 |
| The Silk Serum | $99 | 30 ml | $97.59 |
| Benefiance Wrinkle Smoothing Cream | $79 | 50 ml | $46.73 |
| Vital Perfection Advanced Cream | $146 | 50 ml | $86.35 |
| Ultimune Power Infusing Serum | $125 | 50 ml | $73.93 |
Larger sizes and refills lower the cost. Tatcha sells both creams in a 75 ml size for $93 ($36.67 per ounce) and as a 50 ml refill pod for $68 ($40.22 per ounce). Shiseido sells Benefiance in a 75 ml jar for $108 ($42.59 per ounce) and Ultimune as a 75 ml refill for $140 ($55.20 per ounce). Both brand sites take 10% off through subscription.
Prices come from tatcha.com and shiseido.com on September 17, 2026, and sales and gift sets change them. Tatcha also sells through Sephora and Ulta Beauty, and Shiseido through Macy's and Amazon. For two other luxury skincare brands in a similar price range, see our Estee Lauder vs Lancome comparison.
Is Tatcha or Shiseido better for sensitive skin?
Tatcha is the better fit if denatured alcohol bothers your skin, but all six Tatcha and Shiseido products we compared list fragrance.
| Product | Fragrance position | Fragrance allergens named | Denatured alcohol | Other notes |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| The Dewy Skin Cream | 38th of 47 | Citral, limonene, linalool | Not listed | Alcohol 39th |
| The Water Cream | 29th of 35 | Limonene, linalool, citral | Not listed | Alcohol 30th |
| The Silk Serum | 8th of 38 | Citral, limonene, linalool | Not listed | No alcohol listed |
| Benefiance Wrinkle Smoothing Cream | 28th of 53 | Linalool, limonene, citronellol, geraniol | 2nd | Alcohol also 22nd |
| Ultimune Power Infusing Serum | 48th of 48 | Linalool, citronellol | 4th | Alcohol also 33rd |
| Vital Perfection Advanced Cream | 55th of 57 | Limonene, hexyl cinnamal, linalool, citronellol | Not listed | Alcohol 5th, lavender oil 22nd |
Position on the label hints at amount. The Silk Serum lists no alcohol but places fragrance eighth. Ultimune, which Shiseido labels for sensitive skin too, lists fragrance last and denatured alcohol fourth. Whichever brand you choose, patch-test a new product on a small area first.
What we would buy
- Dry skin: Tatcha The Dewy Skin Cream, then the $68 refill pod.
- Oily or combination skin: Tatcha The Water Cream.
- The most serum for the money: Shiseido Ultimune Power Infusing Serum, especially the 75 ml refill.
- Fine lines and firmness in a serum: Tatcha The Silk Serum, if fragrance does not bother you.
- A firming cream with a clinical result: Shiseido Vital Perfection, at $146.
- A niacinamide moisturizer for normal to combination skin: Shiseido Benefiance, if denatured alcohol does not bother you.
Sources
- Manufacturer product pages and ingredient lists for all six products, tatcha.com and shiseido.com, captured September 17, 2026
- Tatcha, Our Story, Founding Team, and Hadasei-3 proprietary complex pages, tatcha.com
- Shiseido Company, Limited, corporate history and company information pages, corp.shiseido.com
- NutritionInsight and BeautyMatter, coverage of Unilever's 2019 agreement to acquire Tatcha
- Unilever, first-quarter 2026 results
- Bissett DL, Miyamoto K, Sun P, et al., Topical niacinamide reduces yellowing, wrinkling, red blotchiness, and hyperpigmented spots in aging facial skin, International Journal of Cosmetic Science, 2004 (PMID 18492135)
Editor's update
Published September 17, 2026. Prices, sizes, full ingredient lists, and brand test results for all six products were read from tatcha.com and shiseido.com on that date, and brand history comes from Tatcha's and Shiseido's own pages, Unilever, NutritionInsight, and BeautyMatter. The Dewy Skin Cream, The Water Cream, Ultimune, and Vital Perfection pages each attach at least one result to two different studies, so those figures appear without a sample size or are left out. Ultimune prices are for the 50 ml size unless stated.







